August 2022 Gold Coast trip - Which parks to choose?

Action Man

Found this forum while browsing for info on the tragic Dreamworld incident, as a maintenance electrician my interest in this topic was certainly piqued.

On a totally unrelated matter, I'm looking to take my two of my teenage kids (16 & 17) and my two grandkids (4 & 6) to either Dreamworld/WWW or Movieworld/W&W, at the end of August. Having read lots of great info on here I'm leaning towards DW/WWW, as my primary driving motivation is the avoidance of standing in line waiting and it seems DW is a little less crowded. I have no real desire toward any particular theme or rides, just want the kids to have fun.

Any feedback taps would be greatly appreciated!

• Richard changed the title to August 2022 Gold Coast trip - Which parks to choose?
18 minutes ago, Action Man said:

Just realised WWW won't even be open while we're there......makes the Village Super Pass a little more attractive.

If you were just headed to one park, Dreamworld'd be the best one. If you want to go to 2, however, my opinion's be to do Movie World and Sea World (over W&W, but because of it not being good weather like Whombex, and just cause of Sea World being the better option generally). Far as crowds go, no matter whether it's Dreamworld, Sea World or Movie World there will be crowds on holidays, but in my experience Dreamworld feels like it comparatively has less (likely due to its sheer size).

Edited by Tricoart
  • Like 1

August is a pretty good time to visit, queues are normally quite low, particularly during the week. Maintenance wise you're pretty sweet too, Green Lantern and Doomsday are down at MW, and Giant Drop/ Claw at DW. Depending on where you're from you could be OK with water parks - WnW just came off a surprisingly busy but througherly pleasant winter holiday period with Kiwis and people from Melbourne so apparently is warm enough for some.