Disability policies at Australian Parks

drummerstix_au

Hi, Im a newbie here, and I just thought I'd ask this question, cos some of you here might work at parks and know the right answers. I have Cerebral Palsy, which restricts me to walking on crutches, however somewhere where there is a lot of distance, I use a wheelchair. I am also a drummer, travel the country performing with bands and doing solo drum clinics quite regularly. I was on the Gold Coast back in May for a gig, so my partner and I decided to spend 3 days at Sea World, Movieworld and Dreamworld. After paying such high prices to get in, I was rather disappointed when I found I could mostly only "watch" the rides. 1. Sea World - I noticed the majority of the good rides were up a flight or two of stairs. I did get to do a few circles on the Eye, the view from up there is awesome, but its no way a thrill ride. So I spent the day watching other people enjoy the rides, and looking at the animals.. watching the shows etc. 2. Movieworld - I started getting a bit frustrated mid afternoon, I wanted to have some real FUN!!! So thought I'd try the Road Runner coaster, which is the lamest of the lot, thought if I was ok on that, aim at something slightly bigger. Got to the car, and the guy operating didnt really seem that keen to let me ride. When I tried to get in the car, the barrier wasnt opened wide enough for me to get my legs under. Im not exactly a huge guy, so I couldnt see what the problem was. 3. Dreamworld - DW in my opinion had to be the most disability friendly park of the lot. My partner got let in for free because of me being in the chair, even had BB Eviction tix for free because we booked the wheelchair section. Again spent most of the day watching the rides, except I went to the Thunder River rapids ride, expecting them to say No. The operator was very helpful, he says yep not a problem, stopped the ride, held one of the logs, even a guy who rode with us, helped me climb into the log and get out